Whārangi kōrerorero whānui


Consultation on Paramedic Competencies and Code of Conduct

This consultation is closed.

Tēnā koutou katoa,

Te Kaunihera Manapou is pleased to bring you this consultation on paramedic competencies and code of conduct.


Please see this introductory document. We are consulting on the following documents:

This is an opportunity to have a say about the knowledge, skills, and expected behaviour of the paramedic profession when it comes to ensuring public safety for all New Zealanders and those manuhiri/visitors who on occasion require paramedic services.

Please review the consultation papers attached above and provide your feedback by completing this survey.


The consultation period will run from Tuesday 10 November until Sunday 6 December.


Consultation on scopes of practice, prescribed qualifications and fees

The consultation period has closed.

Tēnā koutou katoa,

Te Kaunihera Manapou Paramedic Council has recently been established as a responsible & authority (RA) under the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act (2003) with the statutory purpose to protect the health and safety of the public by ensuring paramedics are fit and competent to practise.

Te Kaunihera Manapou is consulting with key stakeholders on the following documents:

The draft scopes and qualification consultation documents are the foundation to professional paramedic registration in Aotearoa New Zealand. The draft qualifications described the required qualifications to meet registration as a Paramedic. The scopes of practice describes the services that a registered Paramedic is able to undertake and at the same time are sufficiently broad and enabling to ensure the scope is future focused.

Te Kaunihera proposes to specify two scopes of practice at this time, and invites your feedback.

Those scopes of practice are:

  1. Paramedic; and

  2. Paramedic Specialist with authorisation in Critical Care Paramedicine and/or Extended Care Paramedicine.

Te Kaunihera is consulting on the below proposed fees:

  1. Initial registration fee

  2. Annual practising certificate (APC) fee

  3. Application fee to change of scope

  4. Registration, application and processing fee for applications under the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Act 1997

  5. Registration, application and processing fee for overseas qualified applicants.